Serve This Royalty

9 May

My absolute guilty pleasure right now is Cody Chesnutt. My favourite is his double album The Headphone Masterpiece. He recorded it in his bedroom and you can tell- it’s pure grit. It captures his egotistical attitude, tongue-in-cheek humour, hedonism. Love (lust?) in all its beauty and sadness… and a fair share of misogyny, I’ve got to admit, which is where the guilt stems from. But he is so flawed and yet so himself that I dig it. Really, if I’m having a not-so-good day, I pop on some Cody and it helps somehow.

What’s your guilty pleasure? Musical or otherwise?

2 Responses to “Serve This Royalty”

  1. MsAfropolitan May 16, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    The first time I heard one of his songs I HAD to have the album, and I loved the vibe until I could not handle the misogyny anymore. This was some years ago, I’m more forgiving now (I think), you’ve inspired me to the dig out the cd… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • z May 16, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      ooh, do let me know if you enjoy it this time around. I can see why the misogyny would be off-putting from an objective point of view, but man- his voice! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

